In Sleep, In Thunder…

On Sunday 25 June 2023 at 8:00 pm in the Minoritensaal, the Ensemble Zeitfluss will be performing new and already familiar pieces. In addition to two works that have already been performed, the programme includes two world premieres. Navigating between peace, emotions and different dimensions of sound, the musicians will guide the audience through the evening.

For B. Oulot” by Elisabeth Harnik pays a homage to the Nobel Peace Prize winner Bertha von Suttner and her endeavours, whereby one of the attractions of the piece lies in the inclusion of a historical audio document of the activist.

In the piece “El tañido de Manulso” by Juan Pablo Trad Hasbun, all the instruments in the ensemble produce their own “tañido” (sound), but at the same time imitate the sounds of other instruments that are not present in the ensemble. During the performance, these two sounds develop and transform and become one with each other.

In Elliott Carter’s “In Sleep, In Thunder“, six poems by Robert Lowell about human emotional states find their musical realisation, filled with constant yet coherent changes, both in the music and in the text.

The composition “Black Night” by Parsa Zandi is dedicated to the composer’s experiences in the summer of 2022 with a wide range of emotions and makes them audible and tangible for others.

25. June 2023 • 8:00 pm
Minoritensaal, Mariahilferplatz 3, 8020 Graz


Edo Micic, Conductor
Bernd Lambauer, Tenor
Ensemble Zeitfluss


Juan Pablo Trad Hasbun – El tañido de Manulso (2023, UA)
Parsa Zandi – Schwarze Nacht
(2022, UA)
Elisabeth Harnik – 
For B. Oulot
Elliott Carter – In Sleep, In Thunder (1981)